Sensory Regulation

As assessment of the neurobiological process of 5 stages for sensory processing: registration, modulation, discrimination, integration, and praxis. These are essential to cognitive processes such attention, visual perception, memory, and planned action. The traditional senses are impacted by our environment (vision, hearing, touch, taste, smell, and balance). This test works to help us understand and treat processing differences such as overresponsive systems or under responsive systems that can interfere with the day to day organization and integration of information to help the brain understand and respond appropriately to the environment and others. The clear processing of information allows a person to respond immediately, efficiently and effectively to sensory input without discomfort to themselves or others.

Overresponsitivity (sensory sensitivity or sensory avoiding) is characterized by exaggerated, negative responses to typical sensory experiences in daily life.

Underresponsitivity (also termed low registration) is characterized by muted or delayed responses to daily sensory events, and sensory craving (SC; also termed sensory seeking) is characterized by an insatiable drive for enhanced sensory experiences.

This can be particularly helpful in developing improved emotional regulation through the sensory system for people with neuro-developmental disabilities, psychosomatic symptoms, neurological conditions, and pain.

Contact Us

Tel. 631-474-8099

Text 631-295-4082

Fax 888-506-5997


55 Nesconset Highway 

Suite 1

Port Jefferson Station NY 11776

646 Main Street

Suite 201

Port Jefferson NY 11777

33 Walt Whitman Road

Suite 217W

Huntington Station NY 11746